» » 2014 Stellar Awards nominees announced; Tribbett, Brown lead nominations

(Chicago, IL)  Stand-up comedians turned television hosts, The View's Sherri Shepherd and syndicated radio personality Rickey Smiley (Dish Nation), will inject new energy as co-hosts of the 29th Annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards. The annual salute to gospel music, The Stellar Awards will be held at the Nashville Municipal Auditorium on Saturday, January 18, 2014. The show will air on the UP television network live on January 18, and in broadcast syndication on 150 stations in over 125 markets around the country from January 18 through March 2, 2014. 

Here's the complete list of this year's nominees.  Tye Tribbett and Anthony Brown & group therAPy have eight nominations each.  Tamela Mann and Tasha Cobbs each have seven. 

In addition to recognizing the year's most outstanding contributions in gospel music, The Stellar Awards will also bestow special honors upon Bishop Hezekiah Walker, Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee and Pastor Maceo Woods. Vicki Winans will present the Lifetime Achievement award to Walker, highlighting his impressive career in gospel music; Kirk Franklin will present the Most Notable Achievement Award to Congresswoman Lee, recognizing the leadership role she played in Congress passing the bill naming the month of September Gospel Music Heritage Month; and Dr. Bobby Jones will present the Legends Award to Pastor Maceo Woods.

About Libra Boyd, PhD

Libra Nicole Boyd, PhD is a musician, award-winning author, gospel music aficionado, and the founder and editor of Gospel Music Fever™. Her commitment to journalistic integrity includes bringing you reliable gospel music content that uplifts and advances the art form. Libra is presently working on several scholarly projects about gospel music in the media as well as gospel music in social movements.
Newer Post
Older Post

No comments:

Leave a Reply

}); //]]>