» » » 2016 BET Award nominees announced; Gospel category renamed to honor Dr. Bobby Jones

Clockwise from top left: Campbell, Lecrae, Brown, Franklin, Mann, and Cobbs
Congratulations to this year's BET Awards gospel nominees. 

Finalists for the newly named Dr. Bobby Jones Best Gospel/Inspirational Award (formerly called the Best Gospel Artist Award) are Erica Campbell, Lecrae, Anthony Brown and group therAPy, Kirk Franklin, Tamela Mann, and Tasha Cobbs.

You can view the complete list here.

The show will take place at Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles on June 26, 2016, at 8 PM ET and will be broadcast live on BET.

About Libra Boyd, PhD

Libra Nicole Boyd, PhD is a musician, award-winning author, gospel music aficionado, and the founder and editor of Gospel Music Fever™. Her commitment to journalistic integrity includes bringing you reliable gospel music content that uplifts and advances the art form. Libra is presently working on several scholarly projects about gospel music in the media as well as gospel music in social movements.
Newer Post
Older Post


  1. Roderick Shepard(Sim'Plea ROCK)June 4, 2016 at 12:43 PM

    Honor's to Dr. jones.....congrats to Kirk Franklin. Awesome Artist. .A Legend in the Kingdom of Gospel Ministry. Peace!


}); //]]>